Posted by admin on November 27, 2017 in Articles

Three Branches of United States
Government Our Branches of Government Under the
Constitution… Legislative Branch Legislative Branch…
The legislative branch of the federal government
consists of the congress. Congress is further
sub-divided into two-chamber, the Senate and
House of Representatives.
Article 1, Section 1 of the Constitution establishes
the congress (House and Senate). “All
Legislative Powers herein granted shall be
vested In a Congress of the United States,
which shall consist of a Senate and, And
House of Representatives.”
The chief function of the congress is the
making of the laws. House of Representatives…
Has membership based on the state populations.
Has 435 seats.Members are elected for two-year terms.
Presiding officer is The Speaker of the House.
More directed to the people. The Senate…
Has two members from each state, with 100 seats.
Senators are elected for six-year terms.
Presiding officer is the Vice President of the
United States.
Known informally as the “upper house.“
The Senate is regarded as a more deliberative
body than the House of Representatives. Executive Branch… The Executive Branch…
The power of the Executive Branch is with the
President who serves as Commander-inChief of the Armed Forces.
The nation’s chief executive, the president, is
the head of the executive branch. The
president is the manager or director of
the federal government. The president
sees that the government runs smoothly
and that the laws of the land are enforced
and obeyed. He promises to preserve,
protect, and defend the Constitution.
Although he is the single most important
figure in our government, he/she must
still have congressional approval for
many of his actions. The President…
Article II of the Constitution, the president’s
qualifications and powers are detailed.
The president and vice president serve for a
term of four years and can be re-elected
to a second term.